Home › NIT Admission 2026 › NIT Fee Structure 2026

NIT Fee Structure 2026 — B.Tech Fees at Every NIT, Category-wise

By Sampath Kumar · Updated

Every figure on this page is taken from the NIT's own fee notice — not from coaching or listing sites. We could read 26 of the 31 NITs' sheets (19 of them for the 2026 batch; the rest are the latest the NIT has put online, and are labelled). Tuition is the same everywhere. Where a NIT states hostel and mess, a GEN / EWS / OBC-NCL student's first semester on a 2026 sheet comes to ₹1,20,844 (NIT Sikkim) to ₹2,18,100 (NIT Calicut).

₹62,500tuition per semester, every NIT
₹0tuition for SC / ST / PwD, and income below ₹1 L
₹20,833tuition if family income is ₹1–5 L
Same feefor Home State and Other State quota

NIT fees category-wise: first semester

First-semester amounts in rupees, as each NIT prints them. Read the “Total covers” column first: NITs publish their fees in different shapes — some print only the institute fee, some add the hostel, a few add mess. The last column shows the hostel and mess the NIT asks for separately, where it states the amount.

NITGEN / EWS / OBC-NCL
income > ₹5 L
₹1–5 LBelow ₹1 LSC / ST / PwDTotal coversHostel & mess paid separately
NIT Tiruchirappalli1,25,55083,883†63,050†63,050Institute onlynot stated
NIT Karnataka, Surathkal1,10,11068,443†47,610†47,610†+ hostelnot stated
NIT Rourkela1,36,50094,83374,00074,000+ hostel + messin total
NIT Warangal1,05,00063,333†42,500†42,500†Institute onlynot stated
NIT Calicut1,42,6001,00,93480,10080,100Institute only₹75,500
VNIT Nagpur (Current)83,22541,558†20,725†20,725Institute onlynot stated
MNIT Jaipur99,33757,67136,83736,837Institute onlynot stated
MNNIT Allahabad99,70058,03337,20037,200+ hostelnot stated
SVNIT Surat1,07,50065,833†45,000†45,000+ hostelnot stated
NIT Delhi1,54,2001,12,53391,70091,700+ hostelnot stated
NIT Kurukshetra1,13,90072,23351,40051,400+ hostelnot stated
NIT Durgapur1,11,10069,433†48,600†48,600†+ hostelnot stated
NIT Silchar1,12,20570,53849,705†49,705Institute onlynot stated
MANIT Bhopal1,09,50067,83447,00047,000+ hostelnot stated
Dr B R Ambedkar NIT Jalandhar (2024-25)93,00051,34030,50030,500+ hostelnot stated
NIT Hamirpur (2023-24 onwards)96,10054,43333,60033,600+ hostelnot stated
NIT JamshedpurNot published / not retrievable — see note below
NIT PatnaNot published / not retrievable — see note below
NIT Raipur1,11,68070,013†49,180†49,180†Institute onlynot stated
NIT Srinagar1,21,50079,83359,00059,000+ hostel + messin total
NIT Uttarakhand1,01,81260,14639,31239,312Institute only₹36,612
NIT Goa84,00042,333†21,500†21,500†Institute only₹44,250
NIT PuducherryNot published / not retrievable — see note below
NIT Andhra Pradesh (2025-26)87,10045,433†24,600†24,600Institute onlynot stated
NIT AgartalaNot published / not retrievable — see note below
NIT Meghalaya1,31,45089,783†68,950†68,950+ hostel + messin total
NIT ManipurNot published / not retrievable — see note below
NIT Mizoram (July 2023 onwards)75,20033,533†12,700†12,700†Institute onlynot stated
NIT Nagaland (2024-25)1,12,50070,833†50,000†50,000†+ hostel + messin total
NIT Arunachal Pradesh (Current)80,10038,43317,60017,600+ hostelnot stated
NIT Sikkim83,09441,42820,59420,594Institute only₹37,750

† This NIT's sheet does not print the line; the figure is worked out with the Ministry of Education remission rule that all NITs follow (₹1–5 L pays one-third tuition, below ₹1 L and SC/ST/PwD pay none). Year labels in brackets mark NITs whose 2026 sheet is not online.

NIT fee waiver for SC, ST, PwD, OBC and EWS

CategoryTuition / semesterTuition, 8 semestersIncome certificate?
GEN / EWS / OBC-NCL, family income above ₹5 lakh₹62,500₹5,00,000No
GEN / EWS / OBC-NCL, ₹1–5 lakh₹20,833₹1,66,664Yes, every year
GEN / EWS / OBC-NCL, below ₹1 lakhNilNilYes, every year
SC / STNilNilNo
PwD (any category)NilNilNo

The waivers cover tuition only; institute charges, hostel and mess are the same for every category. The income waiver needs a family-income certificate from a Tahsildar-level authority, renewed every year — several NITs (Rourkela, for one) ask for certificates of both parents. Some NITs charge the full tuition at admission and refund the excess once the certificate is verified.

Home State vs Other State quota: is the fee different?

No. Half of each NIT's seats go to its own state's candidates (Home State quota) and half to everyone else (Other State), but the fee is identical — the quota changes only which seats you compete for, not what you pay.

What you pay during JoSAA / CSAB for an NIT seat

For an NIT seat you pay ₹70,000 (GEN, EWS, OBC-NCL) or ₹30,000 (SC, ST, PwD) during counselling — the seat acceptance fee plus the partial admission fee, net of processing charges. It is not extra: the NIT deducts it from the first-semester fee and you pay only the balance at reporting (NIT Calicut and NIT Rourkela 2026 notices).

NIT hostel and mess fees per semester

Where the NIT's sheet states them. “Hostel” groups seat rent, establishment and utilities; mess is the advance or charge, usually adjusted against actual bills.

NITHostel / semesterMess / semesterHostel + mess
NIT Karnataka, Surathkal9,260not stated—
NIT Rourkela10,00030,00040,000
NIT Calicut25,00025,00050,000
MNNIT Allahabad12,000not stated—
SVNIT Surat6,000not stated—
NIT Delhi20,000not stated—
NIT Kurukshetra9,900not stated—
NIT Durgapur11,500not stated—
MANIT Bhopal18,000not stated—
NIT Hamirpur6,000not stated—
NIT Srinagar8,00020,00028,000
NIT Uttarakhand12,35724,25536,612
NIT Goa15,00021,75036,750
NIT Meghalaya12,00025,00037,000
NIT Nagaland11,00021,00032,000
NIT Arunachal Pradesh4,000not stated—
NIT Sikkim8,25021,00029,250

Download the full NIT fee workbook

The Excel workbook has every NIT's first-semester figure by category, what each total covers, hostel and mess, the category rules and the source document for each NIT.

⬇ Download nit-btech-fees-2026.xlsx

Comparing NIT seats on cost as well as cutoff?

Tell us your JEE Main rank, category, home state and family income — our counsellors will lay out the NITs you can realistically get and what each will cost.

📩 Get free admission guidance

NIT fees: frequently asked questions

What is the B.Tech tuition fee at NITs in 2026?

₹62,500 per semester (₹1.25 lakh a year, ₹5 lakh over four years) for GEN, EWS and OBC-NCL students whose family income is above ₹5 lakh. It is the same at every NIT; other charges differ.

What is the NIT fee for SC and ST students?

SC, ST and PwD students pay no tuition at any NIT, whatever the family income. They still pay the institute's other charges, hostel and mess — about ₹20,000–₹90,000 in the first semester depending on the NIT and on whether hostel is included in its figure.

What is the NIT fee for OBC and EWS students?

OBC-NCL and EWS pay the same as GEN: full tuition above ₹5 lakh family income, ₹20,833 a semester between ₹1 and 5 lakh, and no tuition below ₹1 lakh (income certificate needed every year).

Is the NIT fee different for home state and other state students?

No. Home State and Other State quota seats pay exactly the same fee; the quota only decides which seats you compete for.

How much is paid during JoSAA for an NIT seat?

For NIT seats, ₹70,000 (GEN/EWS/OBC-NCL) or ₹30,000 (SC/ST/PwD) is paid during counselling as seat acceptance plus partial admission fee (net of processing), and it is adjusted in the first-semester fee — as NIT Calicut and NIT Rourkela set out for 2026.

What is the total first-semester cost at an NIT with hostel and mess?

On the 2026 sheets that state hostel and mess, a GEN student's first semester comes to ₹1,20,844 (NIT Sikkim) to ₹2,18,100 (NIT Calicut).

Is the NIT fee the same for CSE and other branches?

Yes. NIT fees are set per programme (B.Tech, dual degree, B.Arch), not per branch.

Which NIT has the lowest fees?

Tuition is identical at every NIT, so the difference is only in the other charges and in what the printed figure includes. Compare the 'Total covers' column before comparing numbers: an institute-only figure is not cheaper than one that includes hostel and mess.

Where these figures come from

Each NIT's own fee document, first semester. Figures are as printed; NITs revise fees each year, so confirm the amount in your provisional admission letter before paying.

Related guides:
NIT Admission 2026 · IIT Fee Structure 2026 · NIT Cutoff Analysis 2026 · All 31 NITs, state-wise · Home-State quota explained · JEE Main 2027 Exam Date

Free · For students & parents
Join the College Path Student Community on WhatsApp
TNEA & NEET UG 2026 counselling dates, round-wise cutoffs, vacancy updates and choice-filling tips — the moment they are announced.
Announcements only · Your number stays private from other members · Leave any time
💬 Join the Community
📞 Call 💬 WhatsApp