IIT Fee Structure 2026 — B.Tech, Hostel & Mess Fees at Every IIT
Every figure on this page is taken from the IIT's own 2026 fee notice — not from coaching or listing sites. 21 of the 23 IITs have published one we could read. Tuition is the same everywhere. At the 12 IITs whose printed first-semester total includes hostel and mess, a GEN / EWS / OBC-NCL student pays ₹1,50,234 (IIT Mandi) to ₹1,76,600 (IIT Bombay), and an SC / ST / PwD student ₹50,234 to ₹76,600.
IIT fees category-wise: first semester, 2026
First-semester amounts in rupees, as each IIT prints them. This semester is the most expensive of the eight because it carries one-time admission charges and refundable deposits. Check the last column: some IITs include the mess advance in their total and some bill it separately, so the totals are not all like-for-like.
| IIT | GEN / EWS / OBC-NCL income > ₹5 L | ₹1–5 L | Below ₹1 L | SC / ST / PwD | Mess in total? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IIT Kharagpur | 1,61,481 | 94,814 | 61,481 | 61,481 | Yes |
| IIT Bombay | 1,76,600 | 1,09,933† | 76,600† | 76,600 | Yes |
| IIT Madras | 1,41,402 | 74,735 | 41,402 | 41,402 | No (amount not stated) |
| IIT Kanpur | 1,58,415 | 91,748 | 58,415 | 58,415 | Yes |
| IIT Delhi (2025-26) | 1,31,000 | 64,333 | 31,000 | 31,000 | No (amount not stated) |
| IIT Guwahati | 1,65,250 | 98,583 | 65,250 | 65,250 | Yes |
| IIT Roorkee | 1,55,550 | 88,883 | 55,550 | 55,550 | Yes |
| IIT Ropar | Not published / not retrievable — see note below | ||||
| IIT Bhubaneswar | 1,60,398 | 93,731† | 60,398† | 60,398 | Yes |
| IIT Gandhinagar | Not published / not retrievable — see note below | ||||
| IIT Hyderabad | 1,68,993 | 1,02,326† | 68,993† | 68,993 | Yes |
| IIT Jodhpur | 1,48,050 | 81,383 | 48,050 | 48,050 | No (amount not stated) |
| IIT Patna | 1,64,750 | 98,083 | 64,750 | 64,750 | No (amount not stated) |
| IIT Indore | 1,42,000 | 75,333 | 42,000 | 42,000 | No — + ₹17,000 |
| IIT Mandi | 1,50,234 | 83,567† | 50,234† | 50,234 | Yes |
| IIT (BHU) Varanasi (2025-26) | 1,21,600 | 54,933 | 21,600 | 21,300 | No — + ₹16,500 |
| IIT Palakkad | 1,55,500 | 88,833† | 55,500† | 55,500 | Yes |
| IIT Tirupati | 1,54,640 | 87,974 | 54,640 | 54,640 | Yes |
| IIT Bhilai | 1,72,270 | 1,05,603 | 72,270 | 72,270 | Yes |
| IIT Goa | 1,26,750 | 60,083 | 26,750 | 26,750 | No (amount not stated) |
| IIT Jammu | 1,53,870 | 87,203 | 53,870 | 53,870 | No — + ₹44,000 |
| IIT Dharwad | 1,58,500 | 91,833† | 58,500† | 58,500 | Yes |
| IIT (ISM) Dhanbad | 1,41,400 | 74,733† | 41,400† | 41,400 | No — + ₹19,500 |
† This IIT's fee sheet prints only the GEN and SC/ST/PwD totals. The figure is worked out with the Ministry of Education remission rule that all IITs follow (₹1–5 L pays one-third tuition, below ₹1 L pays none). IIT Delhi and IIT (BHU) have not put a 2026 sheet online; their 2025-26 figures are shown and labelled.
IIT fee waiver: SC, ST, PwD, OBC and EWS
| Category | Tuition / semester | Tuition, 4 years | Needs income certificate? |
|---|---|---|---|
| GEN / EWS / OBC-NCL, family income above ₹5 lakh | ₹1,00,000 | ₹8,00,000 | No |
| GEN / EWS / OBC-NCL, ₹1–5 lakh | ₹33,333 | ₹2,66,664 | Yes, every year |
| GEN / EWS / OBC-NCL, below ₹1 lakh | Nil | Nil | Yes, every year |
| SC / ST | Nil | Nil | No |
| PwD (any category) | Nil | Nil | No |
The waivers cover tuition only. Hostel, mess, deposits and the other semester charges are the same for every category — which is why an SC or ST student still pays ₹21,300–76,600 in the first semester. Two IITs go a little further: IIT Kanpur charges no seat rent to SC/ST students with family income below ₹6 lakh, and IIT (BHU) waives hostel seat rent for SC/ST/PwD. Female-supernumerary seats pay the fee of the student's own category.
The income waiver is not automatic. IITs ask for a family-income certificate for the previous financial year from a Tahsildar / SDO / BDO-level authority (IIT Kharagpur also asks for an affidavit), and it has to be renewed every year. Until it is verified, most IITs charge the full tuition and adjust the excess later.
JoSAA seat acceptance fee 2026
When you accept a seat in JoSAA you pay ₹30,000 (GEN, EWS, OBC-NCL) or ₹15,000 (SC, ST, PwD). This is not an extra cost: ₹5,000 is JoSAA's processing charge and the remaining ₹25,000 or ₹10,000 is passed to the IIT and deducted from the first-semester fee. That is how IIT Bhubaneswar and IIT Guwahati set it out in their 2026 fee notices.
IIT hostel and mess fees per semester
Where an IIT itemises both, hostel plus mess comes to about ₹20,250–57,240 a semester. “Hostel” here groups room rent, establishment, electricity and water; mess is the advance or charge the IIT states. Mess advances are adjusted against actual bills at most IITs.
| IIT | Hostel / semester | Mess / dining / semester | Hostel + mess |
|---|---|---|---|
| IIT Kharagpur | 28,281 | 14,500 | 42,781 |
| IIT Bombay | 14,950 | 22,500 | 37,450 |
| IIT Madras | 7,500 | not stated | — |
| IIT Kanpur | 13,855 | 13,360 | 27,215 |
| IIT Delhi | 8,600 | not stated | — |
| IIT Guwahati | 11,200 | 21,250 | 32,450 |
| IIT Roorkee | 7,500 | 21,750 | 29,250 |
| IIT Bhubaneswar | — | 27,500 | — |
| IIT Hyderabad | 18,000 | 14,430 | 32,430 |
| IIT Jodhpur | 32,250 | not stated | — |
| IIT Patna | 6,500 | not stated | — |
| IIT Indore | 16,000 | 17,000 | 33,000 |
| IIT Mandi | 9,600 | 16,884 | 26,484 |
| IIT (BHU) Varanasi | 3,750 | 16,500 | 20,250 |
| IIT Palakkad | 8,000 | 22,000 | 30,000 |
| IIT Tirupati | 7,800 | 19,840 | 27,640 |
| IIT Bhilai | 17,475 | 21,545 | 39,020 |
| IIT Goa | 12,000 | not stated | — |
| IIT Jammu | 33,240 | 24,000 | 57,240 |
| IIT Dharwad | 6,000 | 21,000 | 27,000 |
| IIT (ISM) Dhanbad | 3,800 | 19,500 | 23,300 |
Fees for foreign nationals, OCI and PIO
Foreign nationals admitted to supernumerary seats pay higher tuition, set by each IIT. OCI / PIO card holders whose card was issued before 4 March 2021 pay the Indian fee at most IITs — IIT Patna is the exception and charges OCI students the international tuition.
| IIT | Foreign-national tuition, per semester (as printed) |
|---|---|
| IIT Kharagpur | Non-SAARC ₹3,00,000; SAARC ₹1,00,000 |
| IIT Bombay | ₹3,00,000 |
| IIT Madras | ₹5,00,000 |
| IIT Delhi | SAARC US$1,000; Non-SAARC US$2,000 |
| IIT Guwahati | Non-SAARC ₹3,00,000; SAARC ₹1,50,000 |
| IIT Roorkee | Top-20 from listed countries ₹1,00,000; Others ₹2,00,000 |
| IIT Bhubaneswar | SAARC & LDC ₹1,00,000; Non-SAARC ₹3,00,000 |
| IIT Hyderabad | ₹3,00,000 |
| IIT Patna | International / NRI / OCI ₹3,00,000 |
| IIT Indore | ₹3,00,000 |
| IIT Mandi | Institute fee ₹3,03,000 |
| IIT (BHU) Varanasi | SAARC US$1,000; Others US$2,000 |
| IIT Tirupati | Extra ₹50,000 a year (International Fee) |
| IIT Dharwad | ₹3,00,000 |
Download the full IIT fee workbook
The Excel workbook has every IIT's first-semester fee items (one-time, deposits, academic, hostel, mess, insurance, tuition), a check that they add up to the IIT's printed total, the category rules and the source of each figure.
⬇ Download iit-btech-fees-2026.xlsx
Tell us your rank, category and family income and our counsellors will lay out the real cost of each option — IITs, NITs and Tamil Nadu colleges side by side.
📩 Get free admission guidanceIIT fees: frequently asked questions
What is the B.Tech tuition fee at IITs in 2026?
₹1,00,000 per semester (₹2 lakh a year, ₹8 lakh over four years) for GEN, EWS and OBC-NCL students whose family income is above ₹5 lakh. It is the same at every IIT; what differs is hostel, mess and other charges.
How much is the first-semester fee at an IIT?
Between ₹1,21,600 (IIT (BHU) Varanasi) and ₹1,76,600 (IIT Bombay) for a GEN/EWS/OBC-NCL student above ₹5 lakh income, as printed by the IITs themselves. The first semester is the most expensive because it includes one-time charges and refundable deposits. Check whether the figure includes mess — at some IITs it does not.
Do SC and ST students pay fees at IITs?
SC, ST and PwD students pay no tuition at any IIT, whatever their family income. They still pay hostel, mess, deposits and other charges, so the first semester costs ₹21,300 to ₹76,600 depending on the IIT.
What is the IIT fee for OBC and EWS students?
OBC-NCL and EWS pay the same as GEN: full tuition if family income is above ₹5 lakh, one-third tuition (₹33,333 a semester) between ₹1 and 5 lakh, and no tuition below ₹1 lakh. The income waiver needs a certificate every year.
What is the JoSAA seat acceptance fee for IITs in 2026?
₹30,000 for GEN, EWS and OBC-NCL and ₹15,000 for SC, ST and PwD. It includes a ₹5,000 JoSAA processing charge; the remaining ₹25,000 or ₹10,000 is adjusted in the first-semester fee at the IIT.
What are IIT hostel and mess fees?
Where an IIT itemises both, hostel plus mess comes to about ₹20,250–57,240 a semester. Hostel and mess charges are the same for every category — the SC/ST/PwD and income waivers apply to tuition only.
Is the IIT fee the same for all branches?
Yes. The tuition and charges are set per programme type (B.Tech, B.S., dual degree), not per branch — CSE costs the same as Civil at the same IIT.
Which IIT has the lowest fees?
Tuition is identical everywhere. On printed first-semester totals, IIT (BHU) Varanasi and IIT Goa are lowest, but neither includes mess in its total; among IITs whose total includes mess, the lowest is IIT Mandi (₹1,50,234).
Where these figures come from
Each IIT's own fee document for the 2026 entry batch (first semester, hosteller). Figures are as printed; IITs revise fees each year and some mark their sheets “tentative”, so confirm the amount in your offer letter before paying.
- IIT Kharagpur — Guidelines and Instructions for newly admitted students 2026, section 5 (tentative)
- IIT Bombay — Fee Structure for UG New Entrants, Autumn 2026-27 (Acad, 10-07-2026) + HCU Hostel Fees Structure New UG 2026-27 (07-05-2026)
- IIT Madras — Fees Circular for the New Students (UG & PG) of 2026 Batch, Jul-Nov 2026 (04-05-2026), Annexure I
- IIT Kanpur — Fees for New Undergraduate Students 2026-27 1st Semester, Annexure-1 (DoSA, 04-07-2026)
- IIT Delhi — Institute Fee structure for the 2025 Entry B.Tech and Dual Degree (revised) -- the 2026 sheet is not published at a public URL
- IIT Guwahati — IITG Academic Affairs fee structure page + Admission fee for BTech/BDes First Semester July 2026
- IIT Roorkee — Structure of Fees/Charges Session 2026-27, U.G. I Year (Assistant Registrar Curriculum)
- IIT Ropar — iitrpr.ac.in refuses connections from this machine (curl, fetch and browser all fail); a 2026 B.Tech fee PDF is indexed at iitrpr.ac.in/media/fee-structure/04a6dabe-....pdf but could not be read.
- IIT Bhubaneswar — Fee Structure for B.Tech Admission 2026-27 (Academic Section)
- IIT Gandhinagar — IITGN's B.Tech admissions page (2026-27 registration notice, brochure) carries no fee sheet, and no official fee PDF for UG is indexed on iitgn.ac.in; copies on Scribd are not official and were not used.
- IIT Hyderabad — Fee Structure for July-December 2026, UG Newly Enrolled Students (page 2)
- IIT Jodhpur — Fee structure for Academic Year 2026-27 (per semester, except Executive Programmes), Office of Academic Affairs
- IIT Patna — Fee Structure for B.Tech./B.S. & Dual Degree (fee from JULY 2023 admission onwards) -- current IITP academics page
- IIT Indore — Estimated Four-Year Fee Structure for Student Loan Purposes, B.Tech/B.S./B.Des Indian students, Admission Year 2026-27 (13-07-2026)
- IIT Mandi — Institute Fee for AY 2026-27 (Odd Semester), 2026 Batches + Hostel & Mess Charges AY 2026-27 (Odd Semester)
- IIT (BHU) Varanasi — Fee Structure for 4-Year B.Tech Programs, Session 2025-26 -- still the file on IIT (BHU)'s freshers page
- IIT Palakkad — B.Tech Fee Structure for Regular Students (Aug-Dec 2026), linked from 'B.Tech Admissions 2026-27'
- IIT Tirupati — Fee Structure - B.Tech (2026-27 Batch), July-December 2026 Semester (Academic Section)
- IIT Bhilai — BTech - Fee Structure for AY 2026-27, Annexure-I (Assistant Registrar, Students' Affairs)
- IIT Goa — Bifurcation of fees payable for B.Tech Programs, First Year Autumn 2026-27 (slabs I-IV)
- IIT Jammu — Details of Institute Fee and Other Charges, B.Tech 2026 Batch, AY 2026-27 (May 2026) + Mess Fee Circular 24-06-2026
- IIT Dharwad — Fee Structure for B.Tech Programs -- current circular on IIT Dharwad's Fee Circular page (file dated Nov 2025)
- IIT (ISM) Dhanbad — Fee Structure for the AY 2026-27 for JEE (Advanced) students, Dean Students' Welfare notice 20-03-2026 (pp. 8-9)
Related guides:
IIT Admission 2026 ·
IIT Cutoff Analysis 2026 ·
All 23 IITs, state-wise ·
NIT Fee Structure 2026 ·
NIT Admission 2026 ·
JEE Main 2027 Exam Date